Blog

Europe

Daily morning routine: wake up at 5:30am, make myself a green tea latte, stretch, and then head to the beach. The sun rose late in France, around 7:30am. This photo was taken after my warm up surf before the first day of the comp at the back up site Le Culs Nus. It was a fun rippable left that morning but was completely different later that afternoon when I paddled out for my heat. The tide changes are so drastic in Europe that the lineups are never the same. Being open and adaptable is key! One of the best things about getting up early are the breathtaking sunrises. This morning the sky was on fire! The oranges, pinks and yellows of this sunrise are some of my favorite colors. The team. I'v

 

About

CURRENTLY I AM...

28 years old, married to the love of my life and traveling the world as a Professional Surfer. I spend six months of the year living out of a suitcase, chasing waves and following my dream. The other six months you'll find me at home in Honolulu, Hawaii with my Husband, Luke, and Two dogs, Maya and Tuffy.

 

my Dad taught me how to surf when I was five years old at Waikiki Beach and I was immediately hooked. the ocean is my happy place! I feel so blessed to be doing what I love everyday. 2019 is my tenth season competing on the World Championship Tour of Surfing. I am grateful for my three world titles in 2011, 2013 and 2015.

 

Winning a contest is great but the feeling is only temporary. on my journey, what stands out the most are all the moments in between... the belly aching laughs, breathtaking sunsets, yummy meals shared with friends and incredible adventures. to me Happiness and success aren't defined by the trophies or accolades but by the small victories and simple joys everyday.   

 

I'm inspired by those who live authentically and have the courage to be vulnerable. My dream is to encourage others to live their passions, be unapologetically themselves and to take the time for others and the world around them.

 

when I'm not surfing, you can find me scrapbooking, visiting with my family, training or taking naps. I am horrified of heights and holding earth worms. I love food and have a major sweet tooth.   

 

This is me in a nutshell. I'm genuinely myself. My journey is imperfect but I am laughing, loving and learning every step of the way. Thanks for sharing it with me.  

 

Xx,

Carissa

 

Instagram

 

ViDEOS